School is back in session! That means you have to be on the lookout for school buses and pedestrians.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, students are about 70 times more likely to get to school safely when taking a bus instead of traveling by car.
Why is that?
School buses are the most regulated vehicles on the road and are designed to be safer than passenger vehicles.
What's the law?
Virginia law says drivers are required to stop for stopped school buses with flashing red lights and an extended stop sign when approaching from any direction.
The only time you do not need to stop is when a bus is traveling on the opposite direction of a divided roadway with a median or barrier.
Some confusion could come up since this law varies in different states.
In North Carolina, only drivers following a school bus are required to stop on a roadway of four lanes or more with a center turning lane.
If you pass a stopped bus, you could face a charge of reckless driving and a class 1 misdemeanor.
If convicted, it could mean up to 12 months in jail or a fine of up to $2,500.