top of page

42 Commit to Career and Technical Education at P&HCC, 2 receive national scholarship

MARTINSVILLE, VA – On Tuesday, Patrick & Henry Community College joined a nationwide celebration of Career and Technical Education and the vital work done in these fields.

To honor students who intend to pursue a career or technical pathway, the National Coalition of Certification Centers has created the National CTE Signing Day.

This year, P&HCC participated in this event with over 65 institutions across the country.

Students from Bassett, Magna Vista and Patrick County high schools attended the event signing their intent to join P&HCC in the fall.

Adding an additional cause for celebration, P&HCC received the honor of announcing two Skilled Trades – 3M Transformational Scholarship recipients.

This national scholarship, provided through 3M and the National Coalition of Certification Centers, is worth $1,000.

The first scholarship recipient announced was Wesley Dyckman a student at Magna Vista High School who plans to pursue Industrial Electronics Technology at the community college in the fall.

The second scholarship recipient Riley Brim, is currently a student at Patrick County High School and plans to pursue Welding at the community college in the fall.

The Martinsville and Henry County students who were recognized for their commitments to P&HCC and to the pursuit of technical fields were:

  • CADD: Hailey Renee Ashworth

  • General Engineering Technology: Hunter Nicholas Eanes

  • Industrial Electronics Technology: Xavier L. Ashley, Cole D. Burgess, Kaedon Anthony Byrd, Kaden Elias Collins, Wesley M. Dyckman, John Nathan Glenn, Mason E. Newman, and Jeffrey Ethan Wallace

  • Motorsports Technology: Christopher Charlie Cline, Tiquise Jorod Fitzgerald, Shawn Foley, Omarion Hairston, Nicholas Alexander Jacobson, Christian Pounds, Dwain Jelene Ross Jr., Joshua Michael Tusinger, Steven Allen Whorley, and Chase Reid Wilson

  • Precision Machining: Austin Wayne Gammons

  • Welding: Bryce Boothe, Avery Harrison Brown, Austin Gammons, Kamierion Omar Haith, Jordan R. Hartsock, Trinity Grace Hylton, Rodney William Gage Ragans, William Alexander Ryan, Jake Hunter Sharpe, Nickolas Stoneman, Acoryon Quamaine Tinsley and Paxton Medlock Tucker

The Patrick County students who were recognized for their commitments to P&HCC and to the pursuit of technical fields were:

  • Motorsports Technology: Zachary Lee Heath

  • Welding: Justus Cole Baker, Riley Quinn Brim, David Colton Bryant, Jeffrey Garrett Parsons, Jacob Daniel Payne, Austin Kyle Rorrer, Nash Corbin Thompson, and Joshua Walker Wright

796 views0 comments


bottom of page