top of page

PHCC inducts eleven into international honors society

LEFT TO RIGHT: FIRST ROW: Jason Gibson (Advisor), Hannah Beasley, Lucero Silva, Hunter McDaniel, Julie Meador (Advisor) SECOND ROW: Rachel Hodge, Lisa Hatcher, Dylan Priggen, Gail Banks THIRD ROW: Jennifer Sutphin, Arthur de Souza, Tiago de Queiroz, Heather Fore TOP: Payton Donavant, Current PTK President

MARTINSVILLE – Patrick Henry Community College welcomed eleven new students into the Psi Phi Chapter of the International Honor Society Phi Theta Kappa Saturday during an induction ceremony.

The inductees were Gail Banks, Hannah Beasley, Heather Fore, Lisa Hatcher, Rachel Hodge, Hunter McDaniel, Dylan Priggen, Tiago de Queiroz, Lucero Silva, Arthur de Souza, and Jennifer Sutphin.

To receive an invitation to join Phi Theta Kappa, these students first had to prove they are committed to academic excellence by maintaining a 3.5 or higher grade point average after taking at least 12 credit hours.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society is now the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters. The organization promotes the academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership, and service functions. As the official honors society for two-year colleges, Phi Theta Kappa provides both networking and scholarship opportunities to help students transition to their next steps in higher education and future careers.

459 views0 comments
bottom of page