Children over the age of 12 could face jail time for trick-or-treating in some cities and towns in Virginia. Yes, you read that right. The debate of when children are too old to go trick-or-treating is over in some places. These places have a legal limit on dressing up in a costume and going trick-or-treating. Children over the age of 13 caught trick-or-treating in Chesapeake can face jail time of up to 6 months and fines.
In Newport News, the legal limit is 12 years old. If caught after that, it‘s considered a misdemeanor.
It does not stop in Virginia, some cities in North Carolina have similar legal limits of 12 or 13. All trick-or-treaters in North Carolina have a curfew of 9 PM.