top of page

Four named Commonwealth Legacy Scholars, receive tuition-free year at PHCC

MARTINSVILLE – This year, Patrick Henry Community College is awarding four first-time college students the Commonwealth Legacy Scholarship. As distinguished scholars, the recipients get one full year of tuition covered at PHCC. Commonwealth Legacy Scholars are selected for their superior academic achievement and the leadership skills they have exhibited during high school.

The Honorable Gerald L. Baliles Commonwealth Legacy Scholar Award winners are:

  • Avery Crews is a graduate of Union Grove High School in Lexington. He was an active member of the school choir and cross country team. Crews works with Meals on Wheels, Habitat for Humanity, and the Rescue Mission and is a youth leader in his church. He plans to complete the associate degree program in Motorsports and transfer to Old Dominion University to complete his bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering. His career goal is to own a high performance shop.

  • Tanner Moyers is an honor graduate of Turner Ashby High School in Rockingham County where he earned an Advanced Studies Diploma with a 3.6 GPA. He received the 2018 President’s Education Award for Academic Excellence and was an active member of the DECA Club, Art Club, and National Honor Society. During his junior year of high school, he was selected for the William and Mary Leadership Award. As an avid baseball player, Moyers received the All District First Team awards in 2017 and 2018. In addition, he was selected to All Regional and All State teams for his performance as an outfielder. Moyers was also the recipient of the 2018 United States Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete Award. He is now a member of the PHCC baseball team. Moyers plans to obtain his associate degree in Business Administration at PHCC and transfer to a four year school and pursue a degree in Business Agriculture or Business Administration. His career goal is to manage his family’s poultry farm.

  • Ryan Shaver is an honor graduate of Grassfield High School in Chesapeake earning an Advanced Studies Diploma with a 3.6 GPA. Ryan was a member of the high school ROTC program and an active member of the track team, football team and baseball team. He was on the Academic Honor Roll during his entire high school career. Ryan received a cum laude rating on the National Latin exam. His participation as the captain on the baseball team earned him the Most Valuable Player award for his senior season. Ryan also serves as a youth leader and mentor in his church. He plans to earn an associate degree in science at PHCC. After graduation, he plans to transfer to a four year school to pursue his bachelor degree in biology. Ryan then plans to apply to medical school with the career goal of becoming an anesthesiologist. He has also given serious thought to entering the military.

This year’s Martinsville Speedway and Campbell Family Commonwealth Legacy Scholar Award recipient is:

  • Dianna Winn is an honor graduate of Magna Vista High School earning an Advanced Studies Diploma with a 4.08 GPA. She was the recipient of the Henry County Public Schools Academic Excellence Award and was a member of the Future Farmers of America (FFA) Club whose landscape team competed in the FFA National Convention and placed seventh overall. Dianna was also in the Beta Club, Student Council Association and National Honor Society. While in high school, she received a Financial Literacy certification and FFA Pesticide applications. Dianna is an active participant in her church and teaches bible school classes and serves as a youth leader. She works at Graystone Farms as a horseback riding instructor. After completing her associates, Dianna plans to transfer to earn a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and be a teacher.

Scholarship applications for the 2019/2020 Patrick Henry Scholars and Commonwealth Legacy Awards will open on February 1, 2019 and close on March 31, 2019.

423 views0 comments


bottom of page